Plastic Additives
  1. Home
  2. Additives
  3. Polymer Processing Aids
  4. Fluoropolymer Processing Aids (PPA)
Additive guide

Fluoropolymer Processing Aids (PPA): 3 Chemistries, Dosage, FDA Limits and PFAS Status

A fluoropolymer processing aid (PPA) is a fluoroelastomer or fluoropolymer added to polyolefins at parts-per-million levels, where it coats the die wall, makes the melt slip and lets the line run faster without sharkskin. It is the most effective extrusion aid the industry has, and it is also a polymeric PFAS, so what exactly is in it, how much is needed, and where does it still stand legally?

Among the plastic additives used in polyolefin film lines, the PPA is unusual: it is dosed in ppm, and it works at the metal surface rather than inside the melt. Blown film, pipe, and wire and cable lines push polyethylene through a die at rates where the melt surface fractures long before the bulk resin approaches its processing limit, and the PPA is what lets the line run past that point without slowing down or losing surface quality.

This page sets out the definition and mechanism, the three fluoropolymer chemistries used as processing aids and their FDA limits, the ppm dosage and masterbatch dilution, where each application uses a PPA, which co-additives interfere with it, its status as a polymeric PFAS under the EU Packaging and Packaging Waste Regulation and the pending REACH restriction, and the PFAS-free chemistries that replace it.

Key figures

  • 0.2 wt% FDA maximum for the 65-71% fluorine VDF-HFP extrusion-aid grade (21 CFR 177.1520)
  • 1.0 wt% FDA maximum for the ≥87% VDF high-VDF copolymer and PVDF homopolymer grade
  • 3 fluoropolymer chemistries in commercial use as processing aids
  • 50 ppm total-PFAS limit for EU food-contact packaging from 12 August 2026 (Regulation (EU) 2025/40, Article 5(5))

What Is a Fluoropolymer Processing Aid?#

A fluoropolymer processing aid is a fluoroelastomer, most often a vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene copolymer, added to a polyolefin to delay the onset of flow instabilities and raise output. Morris, in a 2024 paper in the Journal of Vinyl and Additive Technology, defines the additive class in almost exactly those terms: a polymer process aid that works "to delay the onset of flow instabilities and increase output" during polyolefin extrusion. The onset in question is melt fracture, the family of surface and bulk defects that limits how fast a line can run before the extrudate turns hazy, ridged or grossly distorted.

In the United States the regulatory term is narrower: 21 CFR 177.1520 calls the fluoropolymer an "extrusion aid" for the 65-71% fluorine grade and a "processing aid" for the higher-fluorine grade, both used in the production of olefin polymers. The full family of polymer processing aids also covers the acrylic and PFAS-free types, but this page stays inside the fluoropolymer chemistry, the one behind most commercial PPA grades and the one every current PFAS rule touches.

Polymer processing aid or polymer production aid?#

Two different things share the abbreviation PPA in plastics regulation: a polymer production aid, which under Article 3(8) of Regulation (EU) No 10/2011 provides the medium for making the polymer and is not an additive, and a polymer processing aid, which is an additive compounded into the finished plastic. A polymer production aid is a catalyst, emulsifier or chain-transfer agent consumed or left behind during polymer manufacture, not something a compounder doses into a finished resin. On this page, PPA always means the processing additive; the regulatory production-aid sense is spelled out in full wherever it needs to appear, so the two categories are never confused.

How Does a Fluoropolymer Processing Aid Work?#

A fluoropolymer processing aid works at the metal surface, not in the bulk melt: the fluoropolymer is immiscible with polyethylene, so it disperses as droplets, the droplets migrate to the die wall under flow, and the coating they leave makes the melt slip instead of sticking. The mechanism runs in 3 steps.

  1. Fluoropolymer droplets disperse through the polyethylene melt as microscopic, immiscible domains, because the fluoropolymer and the polyolefin do not mix at the molecular level.
  2. The droplets migrate toward the die wall under the shear and elongational flow inside the die land, driven by the same flow field that drags the bulk melt through the die.
  3. The accumulating coating lowers the surface energy at the wall, which induces interfacial slip, lowers wall shear stress and raises the critical flow rate at which sharkskin starts.

In 2003, Kharchenko, McGuiggan and Migler at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, in a paper in the Journal of Rheology, used frustrated total internal reflection imaging to watch this flow-induced coating form directly on the die wall rather than infer it indirectly. Yang, Arefi, Gritsichine and Tzoganakis at the University of Waterloo, in a 2025 paper in the Journal of Plastic Film & Sheeting, extended that work by measuring the slip velocity the coating produces. The defect itself, its critical stresses and its different forms are covered under melt fracture and sharkskin.

Sharkskin originates at the die exit, where extensional deformation of the extrudate surface is highest; gross melt fracture originates further upstream, in the die-entrance contraction region, a distinction established by Muliawan, Hatzikiriakos and Sentmanat (2005) in their work on polyethylene flow instabilities. Because a PPA coating forms in the die land near the exit, it addresses the first defect directly and the second only indirectly, if at all.

Conditioning and time-to-clear: why a PPA does not work immediately#

A fluoropolymer processing aid needs conditioning time: the die-wall layer has to build up before the extrudate clears, and the time this takes is measured as time-to-clear. Time-to-clear depends on the line, the die geometry and the specific PPA grade; Yang, Arefi, Gritsichine and Tzoganakis (University of Waterloo, 2025) measure it directly on a blown-film line rather than reporting one fixed figure, because layer build-up is itself the variable under study. No published minute count or purge-weight figure in our source library applies generally enough to state as a rule; a compounder confirms conditioning time on the specific line and die before setting a production schedule.

What a fluoropolymer processing aid does not fix#

A fluoropolymer processing aid removes sharkskin, but it does not reliably remove stick-slip or gross melt fracture: in HDPE at 0.05 wt%, stick-slip persisted and gross melt fracture reappeared at 141 s⁻¹. Adesina, Nasser and Hussein (2015) tested a fluoropolymer PPA in HDPE and reported that outcome directly; the same study found that combining the fluoropolymer with an organoclay reduced pressure fluctuations more than either additive alone, which points to a co-additive strategy rather than a higher PPA dose. Three defects sit outside what a fluoropolymer PPA reliably fixes.

  • Stick-slip, or spurt flow, because it results from melt compressibility and a two-branch flow curve near the wall (Hatzikiriakos and Dealy, McGill University, Journal of Rheology, 1992), a mechanism a surface coating does not remove.
  • Gross melt fracture from the die entrance, because it originates upstream of the die land the PPA coating occupies.
  • Die build-up (die drool) at the open die face, because a PPA coating does not control it and can make pigment-related drool worse rather than better.
Flow defect Where it originates Effect of a fluoropolymer PPA Evidence
Sharkskin Die exit Removed or postponed to a higher critical flow rate Muliawan et al. 2005; Yang et al. 2025
Stick-slip (spurt) Near-wall, needs melt compressibility Not eliminated in HDPE Adesina et al. 2015; Hatzikiriakos and Dealy 1992
Gross melt fracture Die entrance Postponed; reappeared at 141 s⁻¹ Adesina et al. 2015; Muliawan et al. 2005
Die build-up (die drool) Die exit face, driven by suction Not a PPA function; PPA-pigment interaction can make it worse Musil and Zatloukal 2013

Which 3 Fluoropolymer Chemistries Are Used as Processing Aids?#

The 3 fluoropolymer chemistries used as polymer processing aids are the vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene (VDF-HFP) copolymer, the VDF-HFP-tetrafluoroethylene terpolymer and PVDF or high-VDF copolymers, and the VDF-HFP copolymer is the reference chemistry behind most commercial grades.

Chemistry CAS Identity note US food-contact limit in olefin polymers (21 CFR 177.1520)
VDF-HFP copolymer (fluoroelastomer, FKM) 9011-17-0 (EC 618-470-6) 65-71% fluorine, Mooney viscosity ≥28 for the FDA extrusion-aid entry ≤0.2 wt%
VDF-HFP-TFE terpolymer 25190-89-0 Named in supplier cross-references as the 100%-active Dynamar FX 5911 type No separate entry in 177.1520; not stated here
PVDF homopolymer and high-VDF copolymer (≥87% VDF) Polymer Melt viscosity 12-27 kP at 100 s⁻¹ and 232°C by ASTM D3835 ≤1.0 wt%

21 CFR 177.1520 limits are maximum use levels for food-contact olefin polymers, not recommended dosages; the finished polymer is limited to conditions of use B to H of 21 CFR 176.170(c).

1. VDF-HFP copolymer (fluoroelastomer)#

The vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene copolymer, CAS 9011-17-0, is the fluoroelastomer behind most commercial PPA grades: a polymer, so it carries no REACH registration, and a polymeric PFAS, so it is inside the scope of the EU packaging and REACH restrictions. ECHA CHEM shows no registration dossiers for the substance (checked 2026-09-22), consistent with its status as a polymer exempt from REACH registration.

Full identity, specifications and the regulatory matrix for the fluoroelastomer processing aid (VDF-HFP copolymer) live on its own substance page. Under 21 CFR 177.1520 the fluoroelastomer is cleared as an extrusion aid at ≤0.2 wt% of the olefin polymer at 65-71% fluorine and Mooney viscosity ≥28, and it is separately cleared under 21 CFR 177.1350 as a processing aid at ≤0.2% of the EVA in ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymers.

2. VDF-HFP-TFE terpolymer#

The VDF-HFP-tetrafluoroethylene terpolymer, CAS 25190-89-0, is the second fluoroelastomer chemistry in commercial PPA grades, and supplier cross-reference tables tie it to the fully active grade types rather than to the diluted masterbatch types. The Dynamar grade-to-CAS mapping and active-content figures come from a third-party supplier cross-reference (additivesforpolymer.com), not from 3M directly, so they are attributed here as a cross-reference rather than a manufacturer specification. No FDA limit for the terpolymer appears in 21 CFR 177.1520, so none is stated.

3. PVDF and high-VDF copolymers#

PVDF homopolymer and copolymers with at least 87% vinylidene fluoride form the third PPA chemistry, and 21 CFR 177.1520 allows them at up to 1.0 wt% of the olefin polymer, five times the limit for the 65-71% fluorine grade. Melt viscosity for this grade runs 12-27 kP at 100 s⁻¹ and 232°C, measured by ASTM D3835, the capillary-rheometry method the regulation itself cites.

PTFE is a different fluoropolymer used in plastics for a different reason. Rather than a die-wall processing aid, PTFE as a plastic additive functions as an anti-drip agent, a tribological lubricant and a bearing-surface modifier, not a polyolefin extrusion aid.

Interfacial agents in commercial PPA formulations#

Commercial fluoropolymer PPAs are formulations rather than pure fluoropolymer: an interfacial agent such as polyethylene glycol is blended in to help the fluoropolymer reach and hold the die wall. Our source library names polyethylene glycol as the interfacial-agent example used in commercial PPA formulations but carries no dosage, ratio or standalone performance figure for it, so its contribution is described qualitatively rather than quantified here.

How Much Fluoropolymer PPA Does an Extrusion Line Need?#

Fluoropolymer processing aids are dosed at parts-per-million levels: published work on HDPE used 0.05 wt% (500 ppm), and the highest level US food-contact rules allow is 0.2 wt% for the 65-71% fluorine grade or 1.0 wt% for the high-VDF grade. No supplier-recommended dosage range for fluoropolymer PPAs (a "300-1,000 ppm" style figure) appears in our source library, so this page states the two anchors that are documented, the research level and the FDA caps, and notes that the working level on a given line is set by trials.

Basis Value Source and status
Practical dosing level Parts per million of the polyolefin Qualitative; no supplier range documented here
Level used in published HDPE work 0.05 wt% (500 ppm) Adesina, Nasser and Hussein 2015
FDA maximum, VDF-HFP 65-71% F, Mooney ≥28 ≤0.2 wt% of the olefin polymer 21 CFR 177.1520 (extrusion aid)
FDA maximum, ≥87% VDF copolymer and PVDF homopolymer ≤1.0 wt% of the olefin polymer 21 CFR 177.1520 (processing aid)
FDA maximum in EVA ≤0.2% of the EVA 21 CFR 177.1350
FDA maximum, polyoxyethylene-grafted PDMS (non-fluorinated comparison) ≤0.3 wt% of the olefin polymer 21 CFR 177.1520
Commercial supply form 2-5% active masterbatch Supplier source (attributed)

FDA levels are maximum use levels for food-contact polymers, not recommended dosages. The working level is set by line trials.

PPA masterbatch and let-down ratio#

Fluoropolymer PPAs reach the line as masterbatch, and at 2-5% active they are far more dilute than the 40-65% typical of other additive masterbatches, because the target in the part is measured in parts per million. Most additive masterbatches carry 40-65 wt% active ingredient (15-80% at the extremes) and are let down at 1-5% of the base polymer, written equally as a percentage or a ratio (5% equals a 19:1 let-down). Fluoropolymer PPA masterbatches sit well below that active-content range because a working dose in the finished part is only a few hundred parts per million.

As a worked example, not a product recommendation, a 3% active PPA masterbatch let down at 2.0% of the base resin gives 600 ppm of active fluoropolymer in the finished part (0.03 x 2.0% = 0.06% = 600 ppm). Carrier resin, active content and dispersion in general are covered under masterbatch, and the arithmetic itself can be checked with the let-down ratio calculator.

Where Are Fluoropolymer Processing Aids Used?#

Fluoropolymer PPAs are used wherever linear polyethylene is pushed through a die at commercial rates: blown and cast film, pipe, wire and cable coating, and blow moulding. Linear polyethylenes, unlike branched LDPE, fracture at the surface at comparatively low shear rates, which is exactly the failure mode a PPA coating addresses.

Line-by-line guidance for each of these applications, including start-up sequencing and grade selection, is set out under processing aids for polyethylene.

Blown and cast polyethylene film#

Blown and cast polyethylene film is the largest use: sharkskin makes the film hazy, so a PPA at ppm level lets the line run at commercial output without surface defects. A typical PE film additive package carries slip agent at 0.05-0.12%, antiblock at 2,500-10,000 ppm (diatomaceous earth or talc) or 2,500-20,000 ppm (calcium carbonate), plus the PPA itself and often an antifog or antistatic additive. The complete film recipe, line by line, is set out under additives for packaging film.

Polyethylene pipe, wire and cable#

Polyethylene pipe and wire-and-cable lines use fluoropolymer PPAs to hold output and surface quality at high shear rates in long dies and crossheads. Rosenbaum et al. (2000) used a wire-coating crosshead specifically to evaluate PPA and boron nitride performance, because crosshead dies concentrate the same wall-shear conditions that drive sharkskin in film extrusion. Pipe-specific formulation packages are collected under additives for plastic pipes.

Wire and cable compounds carry their own crosshead and jacketing formulations, covered separately under additives for wire and cable compounds. In these lines a fluoropolymer PPA competes for the die surface with metallic stearate acid acceptors used in Ziegler-Natta polyolefins, which can themselves contribute to die drool.

Polymers in which fluoropolymer PPAs do not work#

A fluoropolymer processing aid is not a universal extrusion aid: in PMMA the conventional polyolefin PPAs are ineffective, and PVC uses acrylic processing aids, which work by raising melt entanglement rather than by coating the die. Stamboulides and Hatzikiriakos (2006) found that in PMMA extrusion, spiral and helical surface distortion starts at a critical shear stress of 0.35 ± 0.03 MPa, and that fatty glyceride blends, not fluoropolymer PPAs, reduced extrusion pressure in that polymer. The mismatch is chemical: a fluoropolymer coating depends on immiscibility with a polyolefin melt, a relationship that does not transfer to an acrylic or a polar polymer.

Which Additives Interfere with a Fluoropolymer Processing Aid?#

Two co-additives decide whether a fluoropolymer processing aid reaches the die wall at all: abrasive mineral antiblocks and inorganic pigments, both of which compete for the same surface. The processing aid-inorganic pigment interaction is a documented contributor to die build-up, reported by Musil and Zatloukal (2013), and the same authors note that metallic stearate acid scavengers used in Ziegler-Natta polyolefins can themselves cause die drool independent of any PPA present. Whether abrasive antiblock particles physically scour a PPA coating from the die wall is a mechanism the dossier flags for verification against supplier technical data sheets rather than a confirmed fact, so this page states the loading figures without asserting the abrasion mechanism as settled.

Co-additive Why it matters What our source library supports
Mineral antiblock, diatomaceous earth or talc, 2,500-10,000 ppm Abrasive particles at the die surface Loadings are documented; the abrasion mechanism is unverified and stated here as a question, not a fact
CaCO3 antiblock, 2,500-20,000 ppm Same concern as above Same status
Inorganic pigment Processing aid-pigment interaction is a documented contributor to die build-up Musil and Zatloukal 2013
Metallic stearate acid scavenger Can itself cause die drool in Ziegler-Natta polyolefins Musil and Zatloukal 2013
Boron nitride Small amounts of fluoroelastomer plus boron nitride outperform either alone Seth 2011; Rathod and Hatzikiriakos 2004
Organoclay Combined with fluoropolymer, reduced pressure fluctuations more than either alone Adesina et al. 2015

Antiblock additives, in their types and loadings, decide how abrasive a given film recipe is before the PPA is even added to the formulation. Where die drool rather than sharkskin is the symptom, die build-up (die drool) covers the causes and remedies in more depth. Synergy and antagonism among additive families more broadly, beyond this one pairing, are mapped under additive interactions.

Are Fluoropolymer Processing Aids PFAS?#

Yes: a fluoropolymer processing aid is a polymeric PFAS, which is why it appears in every current PFAS rule, but no rule in force today bans its use in plastics outright. The status follows from the chemistry itself: the fluoropolymer backbone meets the structural PFAS definition used across current regulation, independent of whether the specific molecule is toxicologically similar to smaller, mobile PFAS such as PFOA. Every rule that touches this group, across the EU, the US and individual US states, is tracked on PFAS restrictions and plastic additives.

Compounders should treat the PPWR date and the TSCA reporting window as separate obligations, because one limits the packaging and the other only requires reporting.

Instrument Status Key date What it means for a fluoropolymer PPA
PPWR, Regulation (EU) 2025/40 Art. 5(5) In force, applies from 12 Aug 2026 12 Aug 2026 Food-contact packaging may not be placed on the EU market at or above 25 ppb for any targeted PFAS (polymeric PFAS excluded from that quantification), 250 ppb for the sum of targeted PFAS, or 50 ppm for total PFAS including polymeric PFAS; above 50 mg/kg total fluorine the manufacturer must show on request how much is PFAS
EU universal PFAS restriction (REACH Annex XV) Pending RAC final opinion 2 Mar 2026; SEAC draft opinion 10 Mar 2026, published 26 Mar 2026, consultation to 25 May 2026; SEAC final expected end 2026 No restriction is in force; a Commission draft and a REACH Committee vote come next
REACH registration Polymer, exempt Not applicable No registration dossier exists for CAS 9011-17-0 in ECHA CHEM (checked 2026-09-22)
EU 10/2011 (food contact) Monomers listed; additive route unverified Not applicable Vinylidene fluoride FCM 132 (SML 5 mg/kg) and hexafluoropropylene FCM 282 (not detectable) are listed; the fluoroelastomer itself is not an individually listed additive
US 21 CFR 177.1520 In force Not applicable ≤0.2 wt% (65-71% F VDF-HFP) or ≤1.0 wt% (≥87% VDF and PVDF) in olefin polymers, conditions of use B-H
TSCA 8(a)(7) Reporting rule final; scope rule pending Submission period begins 31 Jan 2027 or 60 days after the effective date of the forthcoming scope rule, whichever is earlier (final rule 91 FR 18786, effective 13 Apr 2026) A reporting obligation, not a restriction
Minnesota Amara's Law In force, staged Stages 1 Jan 2025 to 1 Jan 2032; initial reporting 15 Sep 2026 Intentionally added PFAS reporting and, from 2032, prohibition except for currently unavoidable uses
EU Toy Safety Regulation (EU) 2025/2509 Adopted Not applicable Intentional use of PFAS in toys is prohibited (Annex II Part III point 5)

EU food-contact packaging: the PPWR limits from 12 August 2026#

Since 12 August 2026, Article 5(5) of Regulation (EU) 2025/40 has kept food-contact packaging off the EU market if it contains 50 ppm or more total PFAS, and that figure counts polymeric PFAS such as a fluoropolymer processing aid. As this page's own analysis rather than a legal statement, the 50 ppm total-PFAS limit, not the 25 ppb targeted-substance limit, is the one a fluoropolymer PPA can realistically approach, because the targeted-analysis limit explicitly excludes polymeric PFAS from its quantification. Full scope, dates and the other additive limits under the same instrument are set out on the EU Packaging and Packaging Waste Regulation (PPWR) page.

No Commission guidance on how "total PFAS" is measured in practice, or on how the limit applies to multilayer packaging structures, exists in our source library as of this review, so this page states that gap rather than filling it. How the 50 ppm figure itself is measured, once methodology guidance exists, is explained under PFAS testing of plastics and packaging.

EU: the universal PFAS restriction under REACH#

The EU universal PFAS restriction is still a proposal: the Risk Assessment Committee adopted its final opinion on 2 March 2026, but the Socio-Economic Analysis Committee has published only a draft, so no restriction applies to fluoropolymer processing aids yet. Five countries proposed the restriction in 2023, and a 2025 update set out four manufacturing-restriction options ranging from a full ban to unlimited manufacturing under emission controls. RAC's final opinion supports a full ban and endorses only the personal-protective-equipment derogation among those on the table; SEAC's draft opinion, agreed 10 March 2026 and published 26 March 2026, remains open for consultation until 25 May 2026, with a final opinion expected at the end of 2026, ahead of a Commission draft and a REACH Committee vote. Fluoropolymers used as PPAs fall inside the proposal's current group definition; industry representatives, including Korzeniowski et al. (2022), argue that fluoropolymers meet the criteria for "polymers of low concern" and should be treated separately from smaller PFAS molecules, an argument the committees have not yet resolved.

United States: TSCA 8(a)(7) reporting and state PFAS laws#

In the United States the fluoropolymer PPA question is a reporting question first: TSCA section 8(a)(7) requires manufacturers and importers to report PFAS and PFAS-containing articles made since 1 January 2011, and the April 2026 final rule sets the submission period to open on 31 January 2027 or 60 days after the forthcoming scope rule takes effect, whichever comes first. The original rule was finalised 11 October 2023 (40 CFR 705); EPA proposed scope exemptions in November 2025, covering PFAS at or below 0.1% in mixtures, imported articles, byproducts, impurities, research and development, and non-isolated intermediates, with the comment period closing 29 December 2025. The reporting obligation itself, separate from any state restriction, is explained on TSCA and plastic additives.

Minnesota's Amara's Law stages bans on intentionally added PFAS from 1 January 2025 to 1 January 2032, with an initial reporting deadline of 15 September 2026, and Maine runs a parallel staged schedule of its own. Minnesota, Maine and the other state schedules are compared under US state laws on plastic additives.

Food-contact clearance: 21 CFR 177.1520 and EU 10/2011#

The two systems treat a fluoropolymer processing aid very differently: US rules give it a named clearance with a numeric cap, while the EU Union list names only its monomers. Conditions of use B through H of 21 CFR 176.170(c) apply to the finished polymer wherever the 177.1520 limits are used, and the word "approved" is never accurate here; the correct description is "cleared under 21 CFR 177.1520." The full structure of that clearance system, and every 21 CFR section that touches plastic additives, is decoded on FDA food contact rules for plastic additives.

Under EU 10/2011, the fluoroelastomer itself is not an individually listed additive in Annex I; only its monomers appear, vinylidene fluoride as FCM 132 with an SML of 5 mg/kg and hexafluoropropylene as FCM 282 at a non-detectable limit. Whether the additive's use rests on an Article 6(3) derogation for substances not individually listed is not established in our source library and needs confirmation from a legal source before being stated either way. Union-list logic, SML and OML more generally are explained on the EU 10/2011 page.

What Replaces a Fluoropolymer Processing Aid?#

Four chemistries are being used or studied in place of fluoropolymer processing aids: polyether-grafted silicones, hexagonal boron nitride, thermoplastic polyurethane and proprietary polyolefin or ester masterbatches.

  • Polyoxyethylene-grafted PDMS, cleared as a non-fluorinated extrusion aid for olefin polymers at up to 0.3 wt%.
  • Hexagonal boron nitride, used at 0.005-0.5% and shown to remove surface melt fracture and postpone gross melt fracture.
  • Thermoplastic polyurethane, shown in research to postpone sharkskin to a substantially higher extrusion rate.
  • Proprietary modified polyolefin and ester masterbatches, launched commercially by several additive producers with composition kept confidential.
Chemistry Level in the evidence What the evidence shows Regulatory note
Polyoxyethylene-grafted PDMS (CAS 68937-54-2) ≤0.3 wt% (FDA maximum) Cleared as a non-fluorinated extrusion aid for olefin polymers 21 CFR 177.1520; PDMS itself is FCM 575; residual D4, D5 and D6 are restricted at ≥0.1% in mixtures after 6 June 2026 (REACH Annex XVII entry 70, Reg. (EU) 2024/1328)
Hexagonal boron nitride (CAS 10043-11-5) 0.005-0.5% Removed surface melt fracture and postponed gross melt fracture (Rosenbaum et al. 2000); performance tied to surface energy (Rathod and Hatzikiriakos 2004) EU 10/2011 FCM 583, group restriction 16, SML(T) 6 mg/kg as boron
Thermoplastic polyurethane Level not established here Postponed sharkskin to a 12-20 times higher extrusion rate (Kulikov 2005) No food-contact position established here
Hyperbranched polymers with C16 or C20/22 end groups Up to 10% in LLDPE Eliminated melt fracture with minimal preconditioning (Hong et al. 1999) Research grade only
Proprietary modified polyolefin and ester masterbatches Not disclosed Commercial launches: Ampacet 2023, Techmer PM Feb 2023, Baerlocher USA Baerolub AID 29 Nov 2023, Clariant AddWorks PPA 23 Apr 2024 Composition not public

PFAS-free processing aids are generally reported to need longer conditioning or higher loadings than fluoropolymer PPAs; Yang et al. (2025) measured slip velocity and time-to-clear specifically to quantify that gap, but the magnitude is not established here pending the full published data. Each chemistry above is compared in more depth under PFAS-free processing aids, with grades, particle form and food-contact status for the leading non-fluorinated option on its own page for boron nitride, and the silicone chemistry behind the PDMS grades covered under polydimethylsiloxane (silicone oil).

Who Supplies Fluoropolymer Processing Aids?#

Fluoropolymer PPAs come from named producers, and the market is being reshaped by 3M's exit from PFAS manufacturing. 3M, the maker of the Dynamar grades the market still cross-references by name, announced on 20 December 2022 that it would leave PFAS manufacturing, including fluoropolymers and PFAS-based additive products, by the end of 2025, a business worth about USD 1.3 billion in annual PFAS net sales.

Buyers should compare grades by chemistry and active content rather than by trade name, because the market still cross-references 3M grade numbers that are being withdrawn from supply. Chemours, Arkema, Daikin, Dow and Ingenia are named in industry sources and appear on the current search results for this category, but their current product status, grades and specifications are not verified here; this page names the companies with that source stated and publishes no grades, specifications or certifications for them.

Grade name Chemistry in the supplier cross-reference Active content
Dynamar FX 5911 VDF-HFP-TFE terpolymer, CAS 25190-89-0 100%
Dynamar FX 5920A, FX 5922, FX 5924, FX 9613, FX 9614 VDF-HFP copolymer, CAS 9011-17-0 25-35% or 88-93%

Compiled from a third-party supplier cross-reference (additivesforpolymer.com), not from 3M. It is a naming cross-reference, not a claim of performance equivalence. 3M announced its exit from PFAS manufacturing by the end of 2025.

A directory of companies, plants and portfolios in this category is maintained as polymer processing aid suppliers. To compare current offers directly, the plastic additive supplier finder sends one request to several PPA suppliers at once.


What Else Sits in a Polyolefin Film Additive Package?#

A processing aid is one line in a polyethylene film recipe that also carries slip at 0.05-0.12%, antiblock at 2,500-20,000 ppm, and often an antifog or antistatic additive. The full additives for polyethylene formulation guide sets out how these lines interact across the whole package, not only around the PPA.

Lubricants, slip and antiblock additives#

Lubricants and processing aids are often confused: a lubricant works at percent level between chains or between melt and metal along the whole flow path, while a fluoropolymer PPA works at ppm level as a film on the die land. Internal lubricants reduce friction between polymer chains, external lubricants (including mold-release agents) reduce friction between the melt and hot metal, and both mechanisms are distinct from the localized die-wall coating a PPA forms. That internal and external action is explained in full under processing lubricants for plastics.

Slip agents and antiblock additives address a separate problem again, film-to-film friction and blocking after the melt has already solidified, rather than melt-processing defects. Bloom behaviour and coefficient-of-friction targets for these additives are set out under slip additives for plastic film.

Processing aids for PVC are a different chemistry#

PVC uses the same abbreviation for a completely different additive: acrylic processing aids are high-molecular-weight methyl methacrylate copolymers that promote fusion and raise melt strength from inside the melt. Sombatsompop and Phromchirasuk (2004) found that MMA-co-butyl-acrylate copolymers raise mixing torque, wall shear stress and extrudate swell through increased PVC chain entanglement, and are more effective than the MMA-co-ethyl-acrylate type at moderating sharkskin. The acrylic chemistry itself is covered in full under processing aids for PVC (acrylic processing aids).

What does PPA stand for in plastics?#

In plastics processing, PPA stands for polymer processing aid or polymer processing additive, an additive dosed in parts per million that reduces extrusion defects. A second, regulatory sense of the same letters, the polymer production aid defined under Article 3(8) of EU 10/2011, describes something added during polymer manufacture rather than during compounding, and the two senses are not interchangeable.

Is PPA a type of nylon?#

No, not in the sense used on this page: the letters PPA are also used for polyphthalamide, a high-temperature polyamide, but that is a polymer rather than an additive and is outside the scope of this reference. This page makes no claim about polyphthalamide's properties, grades or applications; it exists only to note that the abbreviation is shared.

Can a fluoropolymer processing aid be used in food packaging film?#

The answer splits by market: in the United States a fluoropolymer processing aid is cleared for food-contact olefin polymers under 21 CFR 177.1520 within its weight limit, while in the EU any food-contact packaging placed on the market since 12 August 2026 must stay below 50 ppm total PFAS, and a fluoropolymer PPA counts toward that figure. The wider environmental picture around fluorinated additives in packaging, beyond this one compliance question, is set out on PFAS in plastics.

Does a processing aid change the properties of the finished film?#

A fluoropolymer processing aid is designed to act at the die wall rather than in the bulk melt, so its measured effects are process effects: lower extrusion pressure, higher output and the disappearance of sharkskin. No data on PPA effects on film mechanical properties, optics, sealing performance or printability appears in our source library, so this page states only what the process-level sources support rather than claiming there are no such effects. Routine melt-flow checks on PPA-modified resin follow the same melt flow rate methods used across polyolefins generally.